Criminal Law 101

When you’ve come into contact with law enforcement, you need help. We’re here to tell you: Find a criminal defense attorney immediately. That’s the most critical first step, and the earlier, the better. But how do you find the best attorney for you? What’s the first step? If you don’t know where to start, or if you’re not in the North Texas area, this blog can help. Discover for yourself what a trusted criminal attorney sounds like, and make your first moves toward protecting yourself.

Police at Scene

In Texas, domestic violence charges are serious. They could jeopardize your quality of life, personal reputation, professional and future opportunities, and your freedom. A trustworthy Texas criminal defense attorney can help you understand the circumstances and consequences of a domestic violence charge and help build a strong defense for your case.

Read More
hand cuffed through the bars of his jail cell

Imagine that your child has committed a crime in Texas. Under Texas law, a juvenile is a minor who is at least 10 years old but not yet 17 at the time of committing the alleged offense. In addition to your child facing juvenile charges, you – as the parent – might also be responsible for your child’s crimes.

Read More
man in jail

In Texas, post-secondary institutions — colleges and universities — use Title IX hearings to investigate and remedy allegations of sexual misconduct involving students and faculty members. According to the National Center for Education Statistics, there were 12,300 total reported forcible sex offense incidents on campuses of tertiary institutions throughout the United States in 2018.

Read More
A man places a gun in the waist band of his jeans

Since September 2021, new "constitutional carry” legislation has allowed for most Texans, age 21 or older, to legally carry handguns in public without going through training or obtaining a permit. So far in 2021, there have been 10,742 arrests for weapons violations in Texas, compared to only 1,306 arrests just five years ago, according to the Texas Department of Public ...

Read More
An older man puts his hand of the shoulder of a woman

An investigation of sexual assault ensues when alleged sexual contact happens 1) to someone younger than 17 years of age OR 2) without a person’s consent.

Read More
Photo of Big Family Sit Feast Dishes Table Around Roasted Turkey

For most families, the holiday season is usually the “most wonderful time of year.” A lot of individuals are often excited about family gatherings, holiday shopping, traveling, and parties. Unfortunately, when family members have contrasting beliefs or misunderstand each other, a supposedly peaceful family gathering can quickly escalate to violence.

Read More
wooden gavel

Nothing is more frightening than being accused of committing a sex crime, and no other crime carries a greater stigma based on a single accusation. Since most sex crimes have no physical evidence to corroborate them, an accusation can be brought against a person based on the word of one other individual. Consequences for the accused can be horrific. Convictions ...

Read More
Nterrogating Criminal in Handcuffs at Desk Indoors

Few accusations can cause more lasting damage than domestic violence. The allegation can change the life of an individual or family forever. After an accusation of family violence, the police will almost always make an arrest. After that, a couple can lose control over how the charges are handled.

Read More
Definition of Consent

According to statistics from the Texas Department of Public Safety, there were 18,057 sexual assault incidents reported statewide in 2019. Under Texas law, sexual assault involves any form of sexual activity that lacks consent.

Read More
A person writes in a notebook

Any time a person contacts law enforcement and claims sexual contact occurred without their consent law enforcement will begin an investigation. The focus of the investigation can range from penetration (including by object or oral penetration), lack of consent of the victim, or in situations of statutory rape if the person is younger than 17 years of age.

Read More